Congratulations to Vincent Toro, Lauren Russell, and Sasha Steensen!

vincent-smEd Roberson, judge for this year’s Ahsahta Press Sawtooth Poetry Prize, has selected Vincent Toro of Bronx, New York, as winner of the $1,500 prize. His manuscript of poems, to be released in January 2016, is titled Stereo.Island.Mosaic.

Vincent Toro is a poet and playwright from New York where he teaches for The City University of New York’s Bronx Community College and The Dream Project, a nonprofit organization that places working artists in the schools and local communities. He has an MFA from Rutgers University, received a 2014 Poet’s House Emerging Poet’s Fellowship, and was awarded a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry for 2014. His poems have been published in Rattapallax, The Paterson Literary Review, Vallum, Bordersenses, Kweli Literary Journal, The Buenos Aires Review, Really System, Five Quarterly, Codex, Duende Literary Journal, and in the anthologies CHORUS, edited by Saul Williams, and The Waiting Room Reader 2, edited by Rachel Hadas.

The judge also named two runners-up, whose books Ahsahta will also publish. They are Lauren Russell of Madison, WI, whose book What’s Hanging on the Hush will be published in March 2017, and Sasha Steensen of Fort Collins, CO, whose book Gatherest will come out the following September.

The names of the finalists, semi-finalists, and the editorial board members are listed below.



Rosebud Ben-Oni, Bloodsport

Chuck Carlise, In One Version of the Story

Ashley Chambers, The Exquisite Buoyancies

Jos Charles, butt hole

Nadia Colburn, Silence in the Sentence

Claudia Cortese, Twine

Jen Hyde, Hua Shi Hua (画诗华) Drawings and Poems from China

Jacqueline Kari, TWA: A Masque

Krystal Languell, Tonight This Is Our Last Song

Opal McCarthy, Surge

Allyson Paty, In the Next Room Always

Justin Phillip Reed, Indecency

Lauren Russell, What’s Hanging on the Hush

Andrew Ruzkowski, Do You Know This Type of Tree

Bret Shepard, Living as Magnets

Holly Simonsen, Janus, Headless

Jack Snyder, here I am I

Claire Marie Stancek, Mouths

Sasha Steensen, gatherest

Vincent Toro, Stereo.Island.Mosaic.



Desirée Alvarez, Devil’s Paintbrush

Mark Baumer, The Uzi

Marty Cain, Kids of the Black Hole

Allison Cobb, After We All Died

Kay Cosgrove, A Codfish Recipe for Every Day of the Year

Jamison Crabtree, WOLF!!! vol. 1

John Cross, What Bleak Angels Carried Your Bed

Adam O. Davis, Index of Haunted Houses

Melissa Dickey, What Were Woods

Landon Godfrey, Inventory

Nathan Hauke, Indian Summer Recycling

MC Hyland, An Aperture

Jenny Irish, Common Ancestor

Matthew Mahaney, Actual Echo

Deborah Schwartz, A Girl Could Disappear Like This

Dara-Lyn Shrager, Whiskey, X-Ray, Yankee

Jay Thompson, Full Gone

Gale Marie Thompson, Helen or My Hunger

Daneen Wardrop, Stir the Lake

Amy Wright, Upping the Panoply


Editorial Board for 2015-2016:

Ashley Barr

Denise Bickford

Patty Bowen, intern

Katie Fuller

Janet Holmes, director

Zeke Hudson

Colin Johnson

Indrani Sengupta


Comments are closed.