Kevin HoldenSusan Briante, judge for this year’s Ahsahta Press Chapbook Contest, has selected Kevin Holden of New Haven, Connecticut, as winner of the $1,000 prize. His manuscript of poems, to be released in spring 2015, is titled Birch. A list of the finalists for the prize, along with the Ahsahta Press editorial board members, follows this announcement.

Holden is the author of two chapbooks, Identity (Cannibal Books) and Alpine (White Queen Press). His first full-length book of poetry, Solar, won the 2014 Fence Modern Poets Prize and will be published next year. His poems have appeared in such places as Conjunctions, Jubilat, 1913, Aufgabe, Typo, and Colorado Review, and have been included in the anthology The Arcadia Project (Ahsahta Press) and in Best American Experimental Writing (Omnidawn). He also translates and writes about poetry and is a PhD candidate in comparative literature at Yale. He is originally from Rhode Island.

Ahsahta Press, named for the Mandan word for “Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep,” was founded in 1974 and publishes seven to ten books of poetry per year, including the winners of its annual Chapbook Contest and Sawtooth Poetry Prize. It is based at Boise State University in Boise, Idaho, and is directed by Janet Holmes, Professor in the MFA Program for Creative Writing at Boise State.

See guidelines for next year’s contest

The names of the finalists and the editorial board members are listed below.


Ashley Chambers, The People I Make
Chris D’Errico, Devil in My Wonder Bread
Melissa Ginsburg, Seance
Kevin Holden, Birch
Jane Lewty, Mistune
Ted Mathys, All
Ted Mathys, Woodland Pattern
Diana Khoi Nguyen, Biomythography
Nathan Parker, Good Morning X
Kristin Sanders, This is a map of their watching me.
Meredith Stricker, OCHRE | ORPHEUS
Sam Witt, The Sunrise Engine

Editorial Board for 2014-2015:

Denise Bickford
Katie Fuller
Janet Holmes, director
Adrian Kien, assistant director
Laura Roghaar
Elizabeth Smith
Kerri Webster